About the College of Science

National Taiwan University was founded in 1928 during the Japanese occupation as Taihoku Imperial University and became known as National Taiwan University (NTU) after World War II. Science and Agriculture was one of the two major divisions, the other being Literature and Politics. Chemistry and biology belonged to the College of Science; while agriculture and agricultural chemistry belonged to the College of Agriculture.

Initially, there were four divisions in the College of Science: Chemistry, Zoology, Botany and Geosciences. Now being one of the eleven colleges of the University, the College of Science has acquired a high standard of scholarship, experiencing phenomenal growth, and has become a global educational institution in the last few decades.

The College of Science is now made up of seven departments, three graduate institutes and six research centers. The scope of research covers the entire range of basic sciences, earth sciences and social sciences. The basic sciences are represented by the Departments of Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Psychology (1), and Graduate Institutes of Astrophysics and Applied Physics. The earth sciences are represented by the Departments of Geosciences, Geography (1), Atmospheric Science, and the Graduate Institute of Oceanography. The social sciences are represented by Psychology (2) and Geography (2).

Six Centers are currently housed in the College also: Instrumentation Center, Global Change Research, Spatial Information Research, Theoretical Sciences, Typhoon Research, and Atmospheric Resource and Disaster Studies.

Each Department and Graduate Institute of the College fulfills the dual function of education and research. The seven departments provide specialized training at both undergraduate and graduate levels, offering B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees for each individual program. Several departments are responsible also for the general science courses taken by all students at the University. The College of Science therefore offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate training programs. The faculty members who are responsible for the education of our future professionals belong to the best and most competitive research teams in Taiwan. It is our belief that creative teaching lies at the heart of high quality research and that, at the same time, the advanced research performed at our College is a guarantee of solid training and broad interdisciplinary background so vital to scientists in the age of globalization.

Faculty members of the College of Science are actively engaged in research and are some of Taiwan’s best and most academically driven researchers in their respective areas of specialization. Scholars from the College are often invited to seminars, workshops and prominent international conferences for lectures concerning their latest work. Their research also appears in internationally renowned journals. The College of Science highly encourages the exchange of international scholars and students with leading institutions abroad.

To see the organization chart of COS, please Click Here.


  • Cultivate professional researchers in the fields of Basic Sciences, Earth Sciences, and Social Sciences.
  • Consolidate common major subjects between the Basic Sciences, Earth Sciences and Social Sciences. Improve teaching standards, offer students a diversity of courses and a solid background in research.
  • Augment teaching and research facilities, improve standards and global competitiveness so as to become a world-class academic organization.
  • Enhance international academic collaboration, encourage college faculty to participate in worldwide academic activities and publish papers in internationally recognized journals.
  • Encourage college faculty to collaborate in research and to share resources, in order to inspire new ideas in advanced science and technology.
Copyright © 2012 College of Science, National Taiwan University
Address:6th Floor, Shih-liang Hall 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Road, Taipei, Taiwan 106, R.O.C.
Design by PPD